Sun. Dec 10th, 2023

The National Assembly has approved a special sitting tomorrow morning on Thursday 17th, Nov, to vote in the nine members set to represent Kenya in the East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA).

The Thursday morning approval comes after the legislators found out the Thursday afternoon session won’t be enough for the sitting as it was earlier decided.

“It is in the opinion of the House Business Committee that Thursday afternoon may not be enough, because you realize that in case there is a re-run we may not have time to vote for all those members and considering that it is the last day that we will have in the EALA calendar. So we will need to be here at 10 am so that we can conduct the election till the late afternoon,” Said Majority Leader and Kikuyu Legislator Kimani Ichungwa.

According to the clerks of both houses, Clerk Samuel Njoroge and Clerk Jeremiah Nyengenye of the National Assembly and the Senete respectively, the Legislators are expected to settle and put forward the nine members by the end of Thursday 17th.

The nine members are five, from UDA/Kenya Kwanza side and 4 from the Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Alliance side.

UDA/Kenya kwanza side

  • Hassan Omar-Former Mombasa Senator
  • David Sankok-Former nominated MP
  • Zippora Kering-Former women Rep Nandi County
  • Joel Nyambane
  • Fredrick Muteti
  • Abdikadirr Omar
  • Lilian Cheptoo
  • Ann Too
  • Yasser Ali
  • Salim Mohamed

Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Alliance

  • Kennedy Kalonzo-Kalonzo’s son
  • Winnie Odinga-Raila’s daughter
  • Winfred Mutua
  • Hellen Ndeti
  • Suleiman Shahbal
  • Justus Kizito
  • Kanini Kega
  • Jeremiah Kioni
  • Fatuma Gedi
  • Mohammed Deriye
  • Beatrice Askul
Winnie Odinga receiving her EALA Nomination Certificate(FB)

The tomorrow’s parliament and senate elections will be done in a secrete ballot by the MPs and thje Senators

The suggested members and top politician’s relative are eying the 1.4M salary at the EALA once they are approved or rather voted on by the Law-makers.

Leave a Reply